FUNDING CUTS IMPACT CT HUMANITIES: Help CT Humanities navigate recent funding cuts and continue our vital work across Connecticut. All donations made to CTH will be matched dollar-for-dollar up to $50,000. Donate today!
The P&F Corbin Company manufactured builders’ hardware, including hooks, sash fasteners, picture nails, locks, and knobs, and coffin trimmings.
ReadOne of the attributes that made Naugatuck unique was that it was the home of Charles Goodyear, the inventor of vulcanized rubber.
ReadAn examination of the Warren Congregational Church not only tells us about the central role churches played in developing communities during this period in New England’s history.
ReadHow the 19th-century cycling craze led to improved roads and paved the way for future federal highway construction.
ReadBuried in Southington’s past are the foundations of the bolt industry that helped build a nation from the ground up.
ReadTwo different artistic takes on a prosperous 19th-century mill town and commercial center.
ReadHow the Scandinavian design movement re-fashioned local industry in the mill town of Thompson during the 1960s and ’70s.
ReadDriving along Route 44 in Bolton, motorists travel through a narrow passageway of rocks, caves, and woods known as the Bolton Notch.
ReadListed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983, the Stonington Village Historic District features buildings, canals, bridges, and machinery that recall life in a typical early 19th-century New England mill village.
ReadTwo depictions, produced 18 years apart, illustrate how the textile boom transformed this borough of Vernon.
ReadThe sign from a tavern operated by Luther Holcomb, a Granby mason, reflects his fraternal affiliation as well as the establishment’s role as a meeting site.
ReadAs one of the earliest voluntary busing programs in the US, Project Concern sought to address educational inequalities.
ReadToday it is the Katharine Hepburn Cultural Arts Center (The Kate) but it began as the Old Saybrook Musical and Dramatic Club.
ReadOn Sunday, March 11, 1888, a blizzard came unexpectedly to the northeastern United States.
ReadSharon attracted a substantial vacation community and between 1880 and 1920, wealthy visitors refurbished older homes or built Colonial Revival-style mansions.
ReadThis map, “Camp a Danbury le 23 Octobre 11 milles de Salem,” is a page from the manuscript atlas Amérique Campagne 1782.
ReadThis map, “Camp à East Hartford, le 29 Octobre, 12 milles 1/2 de Farmingtown,” is a page from the manuscript atlas Amérique Campagne 1782.
ReadThis map, “Camp à Walen-Town, le 8 Novembre, 10 milles de Contorbery,” is a page from the manuscript atlas Amérique Campagne 1782.
ReadThis map, “Camp à Farmington le 28 Octobre, 13 milles de Barn’s Tavern,” is a page from the manuscript atlas Amérique Campagne 1782.
ReadThe manuscript outlines the plans of the camps for Comte de Rochambeau’s army during their return march north from Williamsburg, Virginia, to Boston.
ReadAs bird’s-eye view maps declined in popularity during the early 20th century, artists incorporated technical advances in hopes of reversing the trend.
ReadFascinated by the colonial lifestyle and open-hearth cooking, Bill and Cindy purchased the John Randall House in North Stonington in 1986.
ReadWith water supplied by the Shunock River and Assekonk Brook, North Stonington supported mill operations and local businesses from the late 1600s to early 1900s.
ReadIn the summer of 1944, a young Martin Luther King Jr. worked at the Simsbury tobacco farm of Cullman Brothers, Inc.
ReadIn 1880, East Haddam was already a popular tourist destination and, despite its small size, boasted two steamboat landings to accommodate visitors.
ReadDespite Deane’s role in securing French supplies and support for the American Revolution, his accomplishments have long been obscured by whispers of treason, a spy’s double-dealing, and his own sudden death.
ReadThe outbreak of the Pequot War is best understood through an examination of the cultural, political, and economic changes after the arrival of the Dutch (1611) and English (early 1630s).
ReadThe original Windsor settlement contained not only the town of Windsor but also what eventually became the towns of Enfield, Suffield, Simsbury, and others.
ReadLuna Park in West Hartford was a popular attraction at the turn of the 20th century but was demolished in the 1930s to make way for a factory.
ReadIn the years prior to the Civil War, Torrington, like many towns in New England and the rest of the country, found itself divided by the issue of slavery.
ReadA headmistress champions education for African American women and although forced to close her school in 1834, she helped win the battle for generations that followed.
ReadIn February of 1889, the Connecticut General Assembly passed a bill making the first Monday of each September a legal holiday.
ReadArtist, author, and influential conservationist Roger Tory Peterson pioneered the modern age of bird watching with his 1934 book, A Field Guide to the Birds.
ReadOn September 1, 1678, Joshua Hempsted was born in New London, Connecticut.
ReadConnecticut’s bucolic northwest corner, with its Taconic Range, Berkshire Hills, and pastoral valleys, harbored a major iron industry in the 18th and 19th centuries.
ReadHomer Daniels Babbidge, Jr., made his mark as president of the University of Connecticut from 1962 through 1972 and transformed the once-quiet university into a national leader in higher education.
ReadTorrington’s unique and historically significant buildings are the foundation on which local businesses and civic leaders built a revitalized economy.
ReadOn August 28, 1940, Fitch’s Home for Soldiers and their Orphans, also known as Fitch’s Home for Soldiers, in Darien, closed its doors.
ReadIn recognition of the importance of the canal and the village in fostering local economic development, the area was given the name Windsor Locks in 1854.
ReadOn July 22, 1769, Eli Todd was born in New Haven and in 1824 became the first director of the Connecticut Retreat for the Insane in Hartford.
ReadBartlett was the first gravestone carver in the upper Connecticut River Valley, and his headstones tell historians much about early life in the northeastern colonies.
ReadBorn in New Haven, Amasa Goodyear was an inventor, manufacturer, merchant, and farmer.
ReadOn July 19, 1922, the Mystic River Bridge spanning the Mystic River in Groton opened to the public.
ReadStarting as a means of intra-city transportation, trolley lines extended outward by the start of the 20th century and promoted the growth of modern suburbs.
ReadOn June 18, 1895, Jabez L. Woodbridge of Wethersfield patented an automated gallows.
ReadOn June 6, 1756, John Trumbull, painter, architect, and author, was born in Lebanon.
ReadOn March 24, 1879, Marjorie Gray became Connecticut’s first female telephone operator.
Read
Oops! We could not locate your form.