The town of Washington, located in lower Litchfield County, is nestled in the southern foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. Colonists settled the land beginning in 1734 and by 1746 had established an ironworks and began mining iron ore. Named after George Washington, the town incorporated in 1779 from parts of Woodbury, Litchfield, Kent, and New Milford. By the early 19th century, mills and factories appeared along the Shepaug and East Aspetuck Rivers and industry flourished. Today, Washington is home to the Gunnery, a college preparatory school established in 1850, and is a rural enclave composed of permanent as well as seasonal residents.
More on Washington from the CT Digital ArchiveBrowse more interactive content on the CT Digital Archive website.
Gunn Memorial Library & Museum. “Gunn Historical Museum,” 2017. Link.
“Institute for American Indian Studies Museum & Research Center,” 2016. Link.
“Map - South Part of Litchfield Co., Connecticut from Page 214 & 215 of Town and City Atlas of the State of Connecticut.” Real Property. Boston, MA: D.H. Hurd & Co., 1893. University of Connecticut Libraries, Map and Geographic Information Center - MAGIC. Link.
Connecticut State Library Digital Collections. “Washington - WPA Architectural Survey,” 2016. Link.
“Washington Collection.” Connecticut Digital Archive, n.d. Link.
Cothren, William. History of Ancient Woodbury, Connecticut, from the First Indian Deed in 1659. Waterbury, CT: Bronson Brothers, 1854. Link.
J.W. Lewis & Company. History of Litchfield County, Connecticut, with Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of the Prominent Men and Pioneers. Philadelphia, PA: J.W. Lewis & Company, 1881. Link.
National Register of Historic Places, Washington, Connecticut. Hartford, CT: Connecticut Historical Commission, 1995.